Weirwood Net of Hormonal Signals

if-effects

I had an orderly generic post drafted for the topic of hormonal signaling.

Then, I was thwacked by a wave of whacky hormones – several times per day Dragon Flame hit my body, aka Hot Flashes.

My sleep was interrupted and I felt my cortisol rising.  I felt the secretion of cortisol preceded and resulted in feeling anxiety/stress (but rising cortisol might of have been catalyzed by the lack of sleep).

Lessons learned:

  1. Good sound sleep is a pillar of health
    • Exercise, clean air, clean water, clean food are my other pillars
    • I repeat this message to my teenage sons every day and night
  2. Hormones master our feelings and behavior – but we can supplement to counter!

What worked for me – DO YOUR OWN RESEARCH (and what I’ve up to in 2+months):

  1. I exhausted all over the counter hot flash remedies – Estroven, Estrovera, Progesterone cream – none worked, hot flashes raged on and I wasn’t sleeping, cortisol was secreting and I gained weight while IFing – one meal a day (OMAD).
  2. I saw two doctors and obtained and filled a prescription for Estrogen patches and progesterone pills, but before HRT I tried one more OTC supplement…
  3. I take 25mg of DHEA every morning and I feel great.  My chin is a little hairier but I sleep. Cortisol levels feel lowered. My IF regimen is working again.

Other Supplements I take and why I take them – managing mood is important to me:

  • SAMe for mood and joint comfort in am
  • 5HTP for relaxation in pm
  • Hi Potency B vitamin for relaxation in pm
  • Magnesium citrate fizzy drink – feels like an epsom salt bath for your innards
  • CoQ10 for mitochondria in am
  • Hyaluronic Acid or Collagen for arthritis pain in am
  • Generic multivitamin & probiotic to cover bases while IFing
  • Daily swig of apple cider vinegar for general health in pm

I adjust this list depending on how I feel – I’ve eliminated Milk Thistle (my liver is fine) and Calcium (don’t need it – here) .

So I am back – feeling great,  prolonged fasting, HIIT exercising and dropping weight.

 

Leave a comment